Pusing Public Seafood Restaurant
57-65 Jalan Verasamy
Ipoh, Malaysia
Tel. +60 (5) 2419348

Food type: Chinese

Food rating: 4/10

Nearest tube: –

Website: –

(Editor’s note: Please note that the scoring of food in Malaysia is based on a linear scale)

One quick entry before I send my laptop in for repairs. My blasted DVD-Rom gave up on me. So while that alone isn’t preventing me from doing basic stuff like surf the Internet and blog, it is preventing me from culling my boredom as I can’t install whatever ancient games I have lying around in my room onto my equally ancient laptop.

Anyways, I made a second visit to Pusing Public Seafood some time back. It was a free lunch and as I was supposed to meet up with some relatives whom I never existed. There’s chinese families for you! They are so large at times you don’t even know if the person walking down the street is related to you at all…

Har Lok

We started off the meal with Har Lok (Fermented Black Bean and Hoisin Sauce Prawns). The prawns served in this dish were of the freshwater variety which the restaurant is famed for. Despite all the rave reviews about this dish I have to say that I am unimpressed by this dish. The prawns were overcooked as evident by the dried out prawn roe and some prawns with charred-black shells. Overall, this was very disappointing given the hype. (2/10)

Braised Sea Cucumber with Mushrooms

Better was a dish of Braised Sea Cucumber with Mushrooms served with baby bak choi. Sea cucumber is a tricky customer to cook – adequate cooking is required to ensure that the sea cucumber is tender yet retains its crunchy texture although over-cooking will result in a gelatinous mush. Here the sea cucumber was correctly cooked with good texture accompanied by some chinese mushrooms which were delicate yet flavoursome (although it has to be said that the use of MSG is pretty apparent). (4/10)

Steamed Garoupa

Next up was a Steamed Garoupa which I was unimpressed with. I am personally not a big fan of local fish here (with the exception of Pomfret and the occasional mackerel) as they have that weird muddy taste associated with them. So even While the fish was correctly cooked, it simply did not deliver when it came to taste. (1/10)

Steamed Chicken with Kai Lan

I did not try a dish of Steamed chicken served with Kai Lan. Oddly enough, I am not a big fan of chicken (since pretty much everything tastes like it) especially steamed chicken mainly because of that weird texture of the skin.

Stir-fried Squid with Celery and Sugar Snap Peas

A simple dish of Stir-fried Squid with Celery and Sugar Snap Peas was probably the highlight of the meal. The squid was perfectly cooked and tender. It was perfectly balanced with crispy cuttlefish shavings which provided a good contrast to the subtle flavours in this dish. (4/10)

We ended our meal with the ‘Signature’ Fried noodles which were light without any sign of it being oily. The noodles were served with lettuce which were flash cooked for about 10 seconds so as to warm it up without it losing any of its flavours of textures. (4/10)

Overall, the meal here was a pleasant one although not as good as my previous visit here and hence is reflected by my modified score. Hopefully it will not too long for my laptop to be fixed before I will be able to blog my next entry.