Tags

, ,

1919 Restaurant & Gallery
1, Jalan Medan Ipoh 6,
Bandar Baru Medan Ipoh,
Ipoh 31400 Perak.
Tel. (605) 5477196

Food type: Nyonya (Peranakan)

Food rating: 3/10

Nearest tube: –

Website: –

(Editor’s note: Please note that the scoring of food in Malaysia is based on a linear scale)

My laptop is back already. Well, I decided not to fix it after all – a call to Toshiba informed me that they did not have any of the DVD-Rom drives available, and it would have cost RM860 to have it replaced anyways. Instead, I decided that it would be easier to simply purchase an external DVD drive at a quarter that cost.

Less than a week now before my trip to Hong Kong! Hong Kong is a foodie paradise with a huge variety available. Not to mention, food in Hong Kong is non-halal which is always a plus in my books. It really sucks big time that most Western outlets in Malaysia do not serve pork because they are either located in hotels (which strictly enforce Halal food) or simply choose not to as they want to cater to the Malays. Whatever! The sooner I get out of Bodoh-land and away from the Bacon-dodgers the better. After the recent racist remarks made by an MP, his refusal to apologize and the inability of the Prime Minister or his cronies to take immediate action, they still wonder why people like me have no intention of coming back to Malaysia to work following completion of my studies.

Back to business at hand – I recently visited 1919 for lunch after initial plans to dine at Paprika and Sincerro were thwarted with both restaurants being closed. [It is Ramadhan right now, so many eateries which employ Muslim cooks or are owned by Muslims are forced to close during the fasting hours.] It has been a while since I last visited 1919 – my last visit was back when they were still located in Ipoh Garden South and were under different management. 1919 serves Nyonya (Peranakan) cuisine. Nyonya cuisine is pretty unique as it is a fusion between Chinese and Malay cooking born from the immigration and subsequent marriage of Chinese people with the Malays way back in the 15th century.


The menu is divided into the usual categories of Fish, Vegetables and Meat dishes with some specials that had to be pre-ordered in advance. After a quick browse (we were pretty hungry) I settled on four dishes to be eaten with rice. I was quite disappointed that they did not inform us that a couple of dishes on the menu were unavailable.

Stir-Fried Venison with Crispy Ginger and Chinese Wine

A dish of Stir-fried Venison with crispy Ginger and Chinese wine was pretty good although let down by the use of local farmed venison (which as previously discussed conveys an almost too soft texture and is devoid of any of the gamey flavour associated with venison). The Chinese wine lent an additional depth to the dish and married well with the ginger. (4/10)

Buttered Soft-shell Crab

Buttered Soft-shell crab was very good. Indeed the execution of the dish here was spot-on with fine-shreds of crispy fried butter encasing the crab which was still moist and juicy. Despite the sheer amount of fat in this dish, there was no hint of oiliness. (5/10)

Deep Fried Tofu with Sweet Chilli Sauce

As I am a big fan of Mar poh Tofu, the waitress suggested that I try the Deep Fried Tofu with Sweet Chilli Sauce. To be honest, I did not find this dish interesting. The sweet chilli sauce did not have enough bite for my liking (oh how I miss thee Szechuan peppers) while the minced pork did not add anything to the dish. The tofu was however nicely cooked with a crisp skin and almost molten interior. (2/10)

‘Wong Tai Tau Mue’ stir-fried with Belacan

We also had a vegetable dish with a vegetable I am unfamiliar with – ‘Wong Tai Tau Mue’ stir-fried with Belacan (shrimp paste). While the spicing in this dish was good, the vegetable was rather weird with a slimy texture that I did not enjoy. (2/10)

Overall, lunch here was a pleasant affair with a free plate of fruits served to us for dessert (and a rather large plate too). Service was efficient and unobtrusive.