Tags

, , ,

Sushi Nara
1 Church Street,
Staines,
Middlesex, TW18 4EL
Tel. 01784 558066

Food type: Japanese

Website: Sushi Nara

Sashimi Selection

Sashimi Selection

I had to nip in to work for my annual appraisal despite being on leave (thank you very much Shipman… NOT!) With that going smoothly, I had plenty of time for lunch before trying to sun my skin into submission. My initial plan was to head to the Guildford branch of Sushi Nara since it was not too far away from work, but I soon realised that parking around the area was not that easy. With my heart already set on a quick Japanese bite, I made the quick decision to drive to the original branch in Staines.

The restaurant is easily located at the end of Church Street near a pub. The premises are tiny with a sushi counter and a couple of seats downstairs and the dining room upstairs. The restaurant is relatively popular during lunch with officer workers dropping in for a quick bite given their affordable prices. They also provide a takeaway service if you are too busy at your office desk.

Tempura Udon

Tempura Udon

The restaurant was full this lunch service but the owner recognised me and offered me a large 4 seater table anyways as I do order a fair bit of food. I am a bit of an habitual person just went for my usual without bothering to look at the menu. To start a mixed platter of sashimi followed by prawn tempura udon. The sashimi were fine, not the best quality of fish but at under £15 it was decent enough. Of course the wasabi was from a tube. The bowl of udon noodles was piping hot and delicious. For some reason, I can’t get enough of prawn tempura and they do a decent enough batter here which is light and crispy.

Lunch was done and dusted in about 30 minutes. Lunch came up to £25 (thanks to a loyalty card discount), which I gladly paid for and dashed off to the spa to enjoy some sunshine goodness. If you are around the Staines area and are craving some Japanese food, Sushi Nara is decent enough choice. Just don’t expect any ground-breaking cooking.

3/5


Click to add a blog post for Sushi Nara on Zomato